Arkansas Car Auto Accident Lawsuit Lawyer
Arkansas Car Accident Lawsuit Attorney
Arkansas ranks among the states with the highest number of teen accident fatality, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. The state witnesses more than 175 car accidents each day and three fatalities every two days. In April 2012, Chatham Borough public works deputy director lost his life along with two other senior officials in a two-car accident. A 22-year-old man from Baxter died on September 27 after his car collided with a semitruck head-on near Nickerson. On October 6, news anchor Matt Turner was killed after his car hit a concrete signboard and burst into flames on Interstate 30 near Bryant. In April 1999, football player Brandon Burlsworth met a tragic end in an Arkansas car accident.
Arkansas Auto Accident Statistics
- According to Arkansas Highway Safety Office, more than 60,000 auto accidents occur in Arkansas every year. In 2009, the figure was 62,808.
- In 2010, Arkansas auto accidents resulted in the death of 563 people.
- Rural areas accounted for more than three-fourth of Arkansas car accident fatalities.
- About 6 percent of all accidents and 30 percent of total fatalities occurring every year are related to alcohol or drug-impaired driving.
- Speed caused one in every five Arkansas car accident fatalities in 2010.
- In 2010, the state mileage fatality rate was 1.68.
- Auto accident fatalities were highest, almost 75 percent, among those between 16 and 25 years.
- Almost 60 percent of Arkansas car accidents occur on state highways.
Arkansas Car Accident Causes
In 2010, single vehicle crashes accounted for 60 percent of all accident-related deaths and 30 percent of all car crashes. Almost all roadway departures resulted in fatalities or injuries. This highlights driver negligence, loss of control, and impaired driving as important reasons for auto accident fatalities. Speed caused one in every five Arkansas car accident fatalities while alcohol consumption contributed to 30 percent of total fatalities. Almost 38 percent of fatalities happened after cars in which victims were travelling rolled over after hitting another car or stationary objects. Intersections continue to be an important factor in Arkansas car accident fatalities and one in every fifth fatality occurs at intersections.
Arkansas Car Accident County Distribution
Pulaski is the most unsafe county for Arkansas drivers. One in every five Arkansas car accidents is reported from this county. Washington is the next in the line with close to 5,000 car crashes reported every year. Sebastian, Garland, Jefferson, Craighead, and Benton counties also witness more than 2,500 car accidents. Among cities, Little Rock accounts for the highest number of Arkansas car crashes and accident fatalities. Fort Smith, Bentonville, Hot Springs, Springdal, Fayetteville, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Conway, Jonesboro, and North Little Rock are other cities that register more than 1,000 auto accidents per annum.
Arkansas Car Accident Injuries
- Death or loss of limb
- Permanent or temporary disability, disfigurement
- Internal injuries impacting physical and medical condition
- Brain, head, spinal cord, back, and neck injuries
- Whiplash injury
- Severe medical conditions necessitating hospitalization
- Fracture or burn injury
- Psychological and emotional distress
Arkansas Auto Accident Compensation Types
The state law entitles Arkansas car accident victims to press for the following types of compensation from the erring driver.
- Punitive damages
- Financial compensation for expenditure on present and future medical care
- Disability compensation
- Damages for loss of wage
- Compensation for loss of job and earning
- Compensation for physical suffering
- Compensation for psychological distress and loss of family life
- Property damage compensation
- Compensation for vehicle or movable property damaged
Claiming Damages Through Arkansas Personal Injury Lawsuit
- Pre-Litigation Contact an Arkansas car accident lawyer with experience of handling auto accident injury lawsuits and discuss your case details, statute of limitations, and compensation to be claimed.
- Document Collection As soon as you hire an Arkansas car accident lawyer, he take up the charge as your personal injury attorney and starts collecting police, doctor, expert, and investigation reports helpful to put forward your claim.
- Seeking Damages Once all your documents are ready, you can make calculation of detail compensation with the help of your Arkansas car accident lawyer and financial experts. You can notify the at-fault driver or his insurer seeking compensation based on losses or damage you have suffered.
- Arbitration and Mediation Arbitration is an effective way to resolve cases at the earliest and avoid protracted courtroom battle. The arbitration award is binding on both parties. Mediation is another option and both parties can seek third-party mediation based on mutual agreement.
- Litigation You can seek judicial intervention and file personal injury lawsuits if the at-fault driver or insurer fails to comply with your damage claim.
- Trial and Award The jury listens to the arguments by Arkansas car accident lawyers and witnesses and evaluates them in the light of expert reports and state laws. The court decides on the award based on merit.
- Settlement Most of the plaintiffs and respondents prefer to settle the case out of the court and avoid long and complex litigation process. It involves a lot of bargain and negotiation. The more experienced and competent is your lawyer, the better is your chance of getting high compensation amount.
Statutory Regulations for Arkansas Car Accident Lawsuits
- All Arkansas car accident claims of $5,000 or less are decided by state small claim courts.
- Arkansas statute of limitation allows filing of auto accident lawsuits claiming compensation for personal injury, wrongful death, and property damage within three years of the incident.
- However, the lawsuits against the public agency or officials must be filed within a year of the car accident.
- Insurance claims are governed by policies terms.
Arkansas Car Accident Insurance
- Arkansas follows modified comparative fault system, a type of “fault” insurance.
- The at-fault driver is liable to compensate the victim. However, the plaintiff must prove that his responsibility for the accident is less than that of the defendant.
- Arkansas insurance laws prescribe minimum coverage of
- $25,000 per person injured
- $50,000 per accident (all injuries)
- $25,000 per accident property damaged
- No requirement for uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance.
Arkansas Seat Belt Law
- Seat belt is must for all drivers.
- Front seat passengers must wear seat belts.
- All passengers less than 15 years of age must wear proper seat belts notwithstanding their seat positions.
- Child passenger safety seat is a must for all children below six years of age.
- Effective seat restraint is a must for those above six years.
Arkansas Auto Accident Lawsuits
In 2010, a Perry County court awarded $81,219 to a 16-year-old young woman, who was injured after struck by a car that failed to obey a stop sign. A 56-year-old man from Pulaski County injured in a truck accident settled for $260,000. In 2002, an Arkansas car accident settlement resulted in $550,000 compensation in favor of the plaintiff who suffered from debilitating injuries.